A few thoughts

21 03 2009

I’m pondering. I do like that word: “to ponder”. As it’s a Sunday, I’m pondering about what to do in my two classes tomorrow, although I have a vague idea. This time last year, the thought of teaching based on ‘vague ideas’ would have filled me with dread; my habit back then was to write a detailed teaching plan for each lesson. But only one year later (a year and a half into my teaching career), it’s all that bit easier. Not that easy, having said that; I’m still sat here on a Sunday morning, intending to correct an endless pile of tests and essays…

Other questions on my mind currently include the summer holiday, where to go?

  • Austria again? The company’s always good & the scenery’s fantastic, but I never do that much caving.
  • Ethiopia; a new caving expedition? It would be worth it to see a different country, in fact a new continent, but it’s a big unknown, unlike Austria which is tried and tested.
  • Somewhere else? On my own? Have tried this, last summer I had a week cycling from the Dolomites to Venice. The cycling itself was excellent, but I missed company in the evening.
  • There’s always the Dales Way, failed to complete this last summer, partly because I vastly overestimated how far I could walk in the first day. But this should only take a week….

And then there’s the question of what to study?

  • More English? A part time Masters in English sounds quite interesting. But am I better improving my knowledge of the single subject I can teach, or taking on something new?
  • For example “samfunnsfag”, a mixture of geography, history & politics. Could do it part time in Hønefoss (but the deadline is coming up), could take modules as a net-based course (but this would end up costing Kr. 50,000).
  • Then there’s mentoring, something that the Norwegian Government is starting to think seriously about, in order to bridge the gap between teacher training and real-life teaching. I’ve been fortunate enough to have had a mentor for the past year and a bit, and am looking at training to become a mentor myself. Not sure I have all the answers though.
  • Special-needs education. It would be great to have a better idea of how to help pupils with reading difficulties.

Hmm.


Actions

Information

2 responses

27 10 2009
alexnberra

From a fellow blogger, cyclist, and fan of the Dolomites cool post! I visited the Dolomites for 4 amazing weeks, plenty of pictures on my blog, this link will get you started, cruise the site for more posts titled: European Dream Show.

European Dream Show: The Goods, Part I

-Alex

29 10 2009
a teacher ponders

Excellent pics, thanks! Looks pretty hard core (to me anyway..) but it is a fantastic area. I’m just sorry I didn’t get more time there, maybe next summer…

Leave a comment